Schools‎ > ‎Methuen High School‎ > ‎

MHS Principal's Message



November 2017

posted Nov 1, 2017, 2:04 PM by Richard Barden   [ updated Nov 1, 2017, 2:07 PM ]

Dear Methuen High School Community:


Two months of school have passed quickly and the first term comes to a close on Monday, November 6, 2017. Students and families are strongly encouraged to use Infinite Campus to access student attendance and grades. The Student Portal and Parent Portal provide continually updated information for all parties. This transparency  promotes communication between high school faculty and families well before a formal progress report or report card is issued. Any time there is question or concern regarding attendance or grades, I encourage you to reach out to our faculty. To schedule a meeting with your student’s teachers, please contact your student’s guidance counselor or associate principal. A strong partnership between the home and school allows for all students to be supported, encouraged, and ultimately, inspired.


Please take a moment to view our upcoming events. Your support of MHS students is greatly appreciated.


Events planned for November:


  • SAT Administration - Saturday, November 4, 2017

  • Make-up Picture Day - Monday, November 6, 2017

  • First Term Ends - Monday, November 6, 2017

  • Faculty Meeting - Monday, November 6, 2017

  • Election Day - Schools Closed - Full Day Professional Development - Tuesday, November 7, 2017

  • MCAS Retests in Mathematics & ELA - Wednesday, November 8, 2017, through Thursday, November 16, 2017

  • JROTC Blood Drive - Thursday, November 9, 2017

  • Veterans Day (Observed) - Schools Closed - Friday, November 10, 2017

  • Connections - Monday, November 13, 2017

  • JROTC Battalion Improvement Staff Brief - Wednesday, November 15, 2017

  • Senior Class Trip - Saturday, November 18, 2017

  • Methuen Scholarship Foundation Trivia Night - Saturday, November 18, 2017

  • Department Meetings - Monday, November 20, 2017

  • Annual Pep Rally - Wednesday, November 22, 2017

  • Early Release - Thanksgiving Break - Wednesday, November 22, 2017

  • Thanksgiving Day Football Game vs. Dracut - Thursday, November 23, 2017

  • Thanksgiving Break - Schools Closed - Thursday, November 23, 2017, and Friday, November 24, 2017

  • Connections - Tuesday, November 28, 2017

  • “A Christmas Carol” - Thursday, November 30, 2017


Events planned for December:


  • “A Christmas Carol” - Friday, December 1, 2017, and Saturday, December 2, 2017

  • Faculty Meeting - Monday, December 4, 2017

  • National Honor Society Induction Ceremony - Thursday, December 7, 2017

  • Connections - Wednesday, December 13, 2017

  • Department Meetings - Monday, December 18, 2017

  • Choir Concert at Methuen Memorial Music Hall - Wednesday, December 20, 2017

  • Winter Band Concert - Thursday, December 21, 2017

  • Early Release - Friday, December 22, 2017

  • Winter Break - Schools Closed - Saturday, December 23, 2017, through Monday, January 1, 2018


Events planned for January:


  • School Resumes - Tuesday, January 2, 2018

  • Faculty Meeting - Monday, January 8, 2018

  • Connections - Friday, January 12, 2018

  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day - Schools Closed - Monday, January 15, 2018

  • Second Term Ends - Friday, January 19, 2018

  • Department Meetings - Monday, January 22, 2018

  • Poetry Out Loud - Tuesday, January 23, 2018, and Wednesday, January 24, 2018

  • Connections - Thursday, January 25, 2018

  • Science Fair - Tuesday, January 30, 2018


A complete list of MHS athletic events can be viewed by selecting the Athletics Calendar link on the MHS webpage.


Sincerely,


Richard Barden

Principal

Methuen High School

October 2017

posted Sep 29, 2017, 9:28 AM by Richard Barden   [ updated Sep 29, 2017, 9:36 AM ]

Dear Methuen High School Community:


September is behind us and the crisp fall air is on the way. For the third year in a row, we host the Methuen Community Festival on Columbus Day weekend. The events commence on Friday, October 6 at 5 p.m. with the dedication of the MHS auditorium in honor of our beloved Author Nicholson III - “Mr. Nick.” Following the ceremony, the Rangers battle Andover for the Collins-Klimas Cup in our annual homecoming football game, starting at 7 p.m. All Methuen students in grades 5 - 8, along with their families, are encouraged to attend our Community Open House on Saturday, October 7 between 1 - 3 p.m. Current MHS students enjoy the annual Homecoming Dance on Saturday night from 7 - 10 p.m. in the Klimas Memorial Field House. On Sunday morning we close out the festivities with our second annual Ranger Run 5k Run/Walk/Kids Fun Run. For registration information, and an overview of entire weekend, please view this recent post on our high school webpage.


Please take a moment to view our upcoming events. Your support of MHS students is greatly appreciated.


Events planned for October:


  • Faculty Meeting - Monday, October 2, 2017

  • MEFA College Financing Seminar - Tuesday, October 3, 2017

  • Senior College Planning Presentation - Tuesday, October 3, 2017

  • Homecoming Football Game - Friday, October 6, 2017

  • Community Open House for Grades 5 through 8 - Saturday, October 7, 2017

  • Homecoming Dance - Saturday, October 7, 2017

  • Ranger Run 5k Run/Walk - Sunday, October 8, 2017

  • Columbus Day - Schools Closed - Monday, October 9, 2017

  • PSAT Administration - Wednesday, October 11, 2017

  • Colleges, Careers, & Community Service Fair - Wednesday, October 11, 2017

  • Connections - Thursday, October 12, 2017

  • Senior Class Photo - Thursday, October 12, 2017

  • Department Meetings - Monday, October 16, 2017

  • Mathematics Olympiad - Thursday, October 19, 2017

  • Red Ribbon Week - Monday, October 23, 2017, through Tuesday, October 31, 2017

  • Connections - Wednesday, October 25, 2017

  • MHS Substance Abuse Awareness Day (Wear Red) - Wednesday, October 25, 2017

  • Early Release - Faculty Professional Development - Friday, October 27, 2017


Events planned for November:


  • First Term Ends - Friday, November 3, 2017

  • SAT Administration - Saturday, November 4, 2017

  • Make-up Picture Day - Monday, November 6, 2017

  • Faculty Meeting - Monday, November 6, 2017

  • Election Day - Schools Closed - Full Day Professional Development - Tuesday, November 7, 2017

  • MCAS Retests in Mathematics & ELA - Wednesday, November 8, 2017, through Thursday, November 16, 2017

  • JROTC Blood Drive - Thursday, November 9, 2017

  • Veterans Day - Schools Closed - Friday, November 10, 2017

  • Connections - Monday, November 13, 2017

  • Senior Class Trip (Tentative) - Saturday, November 18, 2017

  • Department Meetings - Monday, November 20, 2017

  • Annual Pep Rally - Wednesday, November 22, 2017

  • Early Release - Thanksgiving Break - Wednesday, November 22, 2017

  • Thanksgiving Day Football Game vs. Dracut - Thursday, November 23, 3017

  • Connections - Tuesday, November 28, 2017

  • “A Christmas Carol” - Thursday, November 30, 2017


Events planned for early December:


  • “A Christmas Carol” - Friday, December 1, 2017, and Saturday, December 2, 2017

  • Faculty Meeting - Monday, December 4, 2017

  • Connections - Wednesday, December 13, 2017

  • Department Meetings - Monday, December 18, 2017


A complete list of MHS athletic events can be viewed by selecting the Athletics Calendar link on the MHS webpage.


Sincerely,


Richard Barden

Principal

Methuen High School

September 2017

posted Aug 25, 2017, 4:31 PM by Richard Barden

Dear Methuen High School Community:


Welcome to Methuen High School! This school year is my third as principal and it is an honor and a privilege to lead the MHS community. We have a proud history of providing the best learning experiences for students and our goal is to once again raise the bar.  


In 2017-2018, students will continue to learn with an emphasis on 21st century learning expectations. Our 1-to-1 iPad program is entering its fifth year, and high-quality instruction and student engagement will be a priority in every classroom. Lessons will be designed and delivered to stimulate collaboration, communication, creativity, and critical thinking. All students will be challenged. College and career readiness is the priority, and it is our mission for all students to be prepared to access any desired post-secondary opportunity.


Methuen High School is a large, comprehensive high school with a diverse student population. To meet the needs of all students, we foster an inclusive learning environment - enabling learners of all types to access course content, participate in learning activities, and demonstrate understanding. Our implementation of Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS) along with Social and Emotional Learning (SEL) began last year and will continue this year. A focus this year will be familiarizing our faculty with Universal Design for Learning (UDL). Through the principles of UDL, learning experiences are designed to meet the needs of the widest range of learners. The principles of PBIS, SEL, and UDL combine to provide the framework necessary to cultivate an inclusive school environment that is safe, supportive, and conducive to teaching and learning for all. We aim to educate the whole student.


A successful high school experience requires committed partnering between community members, parents and guardians, and high school staff. This “village of caregivers” working together will provide the support network necessary for student success. Methuen is a community built on pride, and this pride will inspire and empower students to take advantage of all that MHS has to offer.   


It is with great enthusiasm that I enter the 2017-2018 school year as principal of Methuen High School. I look forward to working together to provide our students with a rich learning experience. I wish everyone the very best this school year.  


Sincerely,


Richard Barden

Principal

Methuen High School

August 2017

posted Aug 17, 2017, 7:35 AM by Richard Barden   [ updated Aug 17, 2017, 9:21 AM ]

Dear Methuen High School Community:


I hope your summer has been restful and refreshing. While the hallways are empty, our custodial staff is hard at work cleaning and preparing our building for the upcoming school year. Administration continues to design activities and events that our students will experience and remember for years to come. Below is a list of events to plan for as we look forward to students returning to school.


Events planned for August:


  • MHS Marching Band Camp - Monday, August 14, 2017, through Friday, August 18, 2017

  • Grade 9 Open House - Thursday, August 17, 2017

  • MHS Football Begins - Friday, August 18, 2017

  • New Teacher Orientation - Wednesday, August 23, 2017, & Thursday, August 24, 2017

  • MHS Fall Athletics Begin - Thursday, August 24, 2017

  • First Day for Faculty and Staff - Monday, August 28, 2017

  • First Day for Students - Tuesday, August 29, 2017

  • Fall Athletics Information Night - Wednesday, August 30, 2017

  • Early Release - Faculty Professional Development - Thursday, August 31, 2017


Events planned for September:


  • Labor Day Weekend - Schools Closed - Friday, September 1, 2017, & Monday, September 4, 2017

  • Picture Day - Monday, September 11, 2017

  • Connections - Tuesday, September 12, 2017

  • NESBA Band Competition - Saturday, September 23, 2017

  • Connections - Tuesday, September 26, 2017

  • MHS Annual Open House - Thursday, September 28, 2017

  • Early Release - Faculty Professional Development - Friday, September 29, 2017

  • The Edwards Twins - Friday, September 29, 2017


Events planned for early October:


  • MEFA College Financing Seminar - Tuesday, October 3, 2017

  • Homecoming Football Game - Friday, October 6, 2017

  • Community Open House for Grades 5 through 8 - Saturday, October 7, 2017

  • Homecoming Dance - Saturday, October 7, 2017

  • MHS 5k Run/Walk - Sunday, October 8, 2017

  • Columbus Day - Schools Closed - Monday, October 9, 2017

  • Connections - Thursday, October 12, 2017

  • Senior Class Photo - Thursday, October 12, 2017


A complete list of MHS athletic events can be viewed by selecting the Athletics Calendar link on the MHS webpage.


Sincerely,


Richard Barden

1-4 of 4